Caleb’s Corner: ‘Rough Stone Rolling’: A fascinating read

Standard

A photograph or “daguerreotype” of the founder of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Joseph Smith circa 1843.

Joseph Smith: Rough Stone Rolling was one of the most difficult and important books I’ve ever read. Honestly, there’s so much I could say about it. Like many of works of religious history, it’s made me thoroughly examine my convictions. No, I’m not planning on leaving the church. This book confronted me with some painful facts about the church, but it didn’t shake my faith in God. If anything it has only solidified my belief, and helped me understand what’s really important. Facts are feeble thing. Oft disputed, oft negated by the discovery of more facts. Faith is something that goes beyond the facts. Belief in a God goes beyond the life of one man. The truth is this biography isn’t a definitive account of Joseph’s life, but an exploration of the man behind the visions and how he shaped both religious and American history. If you’re looking for every detail on the prophet, or the absolute truth, you won’t find it. In the end, this is the work of a true historian, who understands what writing history requires even of a believer. It is one of the best works on Joseph Smith out there and is fit for anyone, believer or not. But I get ahead of myself. Check out my column. As always it was fun to write.

For years I have struggled to read “Joseph Smith: Rough Stone Rolling,” one of many accounts of the first prophet and founder of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

via ‘Rough Stone Rolling’: A fascinating read – Standard Journal: Opinion.

If you want to purchase this fantastic book, you can find it at http://www.amazon.com/Joseph-Smith-Rough-Stone-Rolling/dp/1400077532/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1432055040&sr=8-1&keywords=Joseph+Smith+Rough+Stone+Rolling

I refer to Amazon.com because they tend to have the best prices, but you can find it with most online booksellers.

Leave a Reply

